You are here

Investigation of the Federal Highway Research Institute (BASt)

Green Arrow for Cyclists - pilot project in nine German cities

Grünpfeil-Verkehrszeichen mit dem Zusatz "nur Radverkehr"
Grünpfeil-Verkehrszeichen mit dem Zusatz "nur Radverkehr" ©

Pilot test "Green Arrow for Cyclists" in Bamberg, Darmstadt, Düsseldorf, Cologne, Leipzig, Munich, Münster, Reutlingen and Stuttgart

Turn right at red traffic lights after stopping - this is permitted by the Road Traffic Regulations (StVO) if a green arrow is placed on a black background to the right of the red light sign. This regulation has been part of the German StVO since 1994 (it was already introduced in the GDR in 1978). The regulation, which until now has only applied to the right-hand lane of a road, is to be extended to cycle lanes located on the right-hand side of the road as well as to cycle paths along the road in a current amendment to the Road Traffic Regulations.

On behalf of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI), the BASt is now initiating a pilot project to investigate whether it makes sense to restrict the green arrow regulation to cycling in selected cases from the point of view of traffic safety. In the cities of Bamberg, Darmstadt, Düsseldorf, Cologne, Leipzig, Munich, Münster, Reutlingen and Stuttgart, traffic signs will therefore be installed at selected junctions for the duration of the pilot test.

For road users, the actual regulation does not change: after stopping, they may turn right even if the traffic light is red, provided that other road users are not obstructed or endangered. What is new, however, is that these traffic signs allow only cyclists to do this by adding "only cycling".

In 2020, on the basis of the experience gained, it is to be decided whether the Road Traffic Regulations and the requirements in the associated General Administrative Regulation (VwV-StVO) will be adapted accordingly.

Meta Infos
8. January 2019
Further information
Bundesanstalt für Straßenwesen (BASt)
North Rhine-Westphalia
NRVP Action Area